A Summer Of Gardens

I love community gardens! Are they new to you? In some ways, they work like their sisters, allotments, but several gardeners share the space. For me, a small fee covers water and a season’s use of garden area.

Gardeners share expertise, seeds, tools, produces, and sometimes plant diseases.  College students and professors, men and women, young and old gather at the garden hoses. It is a diverse group of personalities brought together by the love of digging in dirt. While some garden to supplement their food pantries, others donate their bounty to retirement home kitchens or food banks for those struggling to support families.

We fight plant diseases, drought, heat, snow, floods, and thieves. Yes, thieves who browse the plots and help themselves. Such was the fate of my watermelons earlier this year. It hurt my feelings to have the openness of our plots betrayed. I made signs warning any  future thieves.

Melon Thief Compost
Melon Thief Compost

Watermelon Fire and Ice
2 cups watermelon chopped into small cubes and seeded
2 hot peppers minced (hot and green make a wonderful contrast–jalapeno, Anaheim, etc.)
½ small onion diced

Drain watermelon in colander to remove excess juices
Mix ingredients gently (somehow mushy watermelon does not work well)
Chill thoroughly and serve with corn chips

 

26 thoughts on “A Summer Of Gardens”

  1. I love your sign and your spirit Alice, from sharing your plant diseases etc. But stealing is bleurgh. Some bugger recently decided to help themselves to my celery, I wouldn’t mind if they were truly hungry or asked me, I’d share. But to sneak there when my back is turned and take what is not theirs, that’s just plain mean and selfish. I guess it’s one of the drawbacks to community gardening. I very much admire your sign and the warning !

    1. A Celery Stalker–oh, no! The sign was good therapy for me–to add some humor instead of anger. I am going to hang it on my front gate this winter.

  2. Hi Alice, gardens are wonderful, for all sorts of reasons. Incredibly rude of others to steal the fruits (substitute veggies) of your labor. (Love your sign, though!) On our farm dad had a shotgun, never used it, but those in the surrounding area knew it! Never had a problem either, LOL! I’m glad your garden was a good one this year! Take care of you, my friend! ps – going to try your recipe, sounds delicious!

    1. I just keep hoping that someone was truly hungry and needed the food. Well, not hoping they were hungry…you know what I mean. All of us would donate food to anyone that needed or asked.

    1. Well now, I was sure I had replied, but I must have failed to click on something. Yes, I have had had more fun growing things than eating (or stealing them).

    1. Nicked the watermelons indeed! IT makes me chuckle now, but I cried when I discovered the melons were gone. We sure nurse each veggie and fruit along. Lovely to see you!

  3. What a cheek! I remember planting gorgeous deep blue hydrangeas just outside my garden gate, and the next morning they were gone. :( Love your sign. I hope the threat of being composted is scary enough to ward off those pesky thieves.

    1. So far, the sign has worked! Or the thieves do not like my other plantings. Others in the gardening community also suffered theft. No vandalism though–which is good. Perhaps someone was really hungry…

  4. It always astounds me that some people think they are entitled to the results of someone else’s hard work. I don’t know why it still shocks me, but it does. Every time. I would probably have set a bear trap under the vines. :shock: Okay, not really. But that’s what I would have felt like if I were in your shoes.

    I haven’t taken part in any community gardens, but we used to have a privately run, all organic garden, where you could pay a small yearly fee and come out any time to pick whatever was in season for yourself. It was a lot of fun, but they moved away, and I’ve never seen another venture quite like it.

    1. Each community garden is different, and I love hearing about them–especially those transformed abandoned lots in urban areas. Like you, I am always surprised at human behavior–including my own! Ha!

    1. It is yummy and hot and sweet! I had nursed those two watermelon along waiting for just the right moment to pick them–then they vanished. I think it was too soon anyhow, and they probably got a mouthful of disappointment. i was able to hide another under the vines and had a feast and shared.

      1. Funny about the squash-cumbers. I had some pots too, and they did not turn out well either. I got 3 tomatoes and 5 leathery, tasteless chile peppers.

I'd Love To Hear From You!

