Row By Row

A community garden highlights the divergent tastes of those who call themselves gardeners. The tomato graces most plots (but not all), but there are so many designs and plantings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I planted turnips, so I could have turnip greens. Unfortunately, the variety I planted has prickly, inedible leaves. So what to do with all the turnips? I learned to add one to pasta sauce for a little zip, but this was my favorite discovery:

Turnip Hash Browns

Peel equal amounts turnips and potatoes (new or fresh red potatoes do not need to be peeled)

1 ½ cups potatoes
1 ½ cups turnips
1 small onion, grated
Salt and pepper to taste

  • Mix ingredients together
  • Drain or blot excess moisture
  • Heat 3-4 tablespoons of oil in skillet, add turnip mixture
  • Spread evenly in skillet and cover
  • Lower to medium heat and cook until browned—about 7 minutes
  • Remove lid and turn mixture
  • Do not cover–allow to brown evenly adding oil if necessary—make sure potatoes and turnips are cooked through

Serve sizzling

 

18 thoughts on “Row By Row”

  1. Your final words had me “serve sizzling” – I’ll do that as I’m always on the look out for turnip recipes.
    and thanks for the photos of your community gardens, nothing pleases me to see the similarities and the differences. Thank you

    1. Somewhere in the comments are references to a couple of great turnip ideas from readers. The turnip soup flecked with greens sounds really yummy. Or scalloped turnips. Makes my mouth water!

    1. Oh, that sounds wonderful and much healthier than hashbrowns! Thanks for the visit and the idea–turnips are on the planning list for next year.

    1. My parents never cooked turnips–something about my dad and the army, I think. But I like them–just had a lot of them all at once and was not sure what to do. The Dahlias were from a garden plot next to mine and they were really something to see.

  2. That sounds like a good idea. I don’t have turnips. In fact I don’t think I’ve ever seen them here, although in earlier times they were a major crop for both food and animal feed. The “foreign” pumpkins have replaced them! ;-)

I'd Love To Hear From You!

